Beautiful Books Link-Up #2: Twinepathy (Again!)

I am enjoying this story SO MUCH. And when I saw the questions for the second Beautiful Books Link-Up, I knew I had to do it. Buuuut… one catch. I forced myself to wait until I hit 20k. Then again, when it came out, I was at 19.5k, so…

beautifulbooksbutton

Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

In a way, yes to both. For one, I wasn’t expecting to have so much fun. But so far the plot is (mostly) following my plans.

2. What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

First sentence: Hello, my name is Albany, and I have a telepathic connection with my twin sister, along with the ability to read minds.

Not bad, but it might change. 😉

3. Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

I’m a plantser. I usually have a bunch of vague ideas and then decide I can’t wait to write and skip the whole plotting part. I used to be a hardcore plotter, but I got impatient. 😉

4. What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

Usually I get to send it to my beta-readers, and then I let myself read some of LotR. IT WORKS, OKAY? XD

5. What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

I usually look for a name that fits the person’s personality and also sounds cool. That’s what I did for most of the characters in Twinepathy. For the twins and their brother, I chose city names (which plays into Maddie’s name, too). I love naming characters. And if I don’t have a personality for them, I find a name and base their personality off of that. I usually use Behind The Name to find names. Other times, just my imagination.

6. What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

Oooh… I don’t know, it’s hard to decide. I love the end, because I finish and I get to reward all my characters with cake and ice cream and I get to send it out to my beta-readers and my mom to read all the way through… and just awesomeness. Basically, I like having a finished story. 😉 Overall, though, I think the middle is my favorite, with the growing tension.

7. Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Grrrrr! These questions are terrible. Probably either Jen or Blaze.

8. What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

Hmm… I don’t think I’ve done much research. Ooh, I know, one of the only things I’ve done is Googled two of my characters’ names because another character in the story was searching their names, and I wanted the results to be realistic. 😉

9. Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

I write better by myself – no distractions – but I LOVE sharing my work. If I have someone reading it and saying I NEED MORE or WHAT WHY DID YOU DO THAT or Otlichno! (Emma… 😉 ) it motivates me so much more.

10. What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I write when I want to, whenever I have time. NO FOOD (unfortunately). I rarely listen to music, since it distracts me, unless I put on the Avengers theme song. I usually write best in the evenings, when I have less distractions.

And no, you get no picture of my writing space. A cluttered desk is a sign of genius, my friends, but that doesn’t mean I want to show it to you. 😉

18 thoughts on “Beautiful Books Link-Up #2: Twinepathy (Again!)

  1. Awesome!!! 😀 Plantser… I love it! XD have you ever read KM Weiland’s planning books, though? Those are pretty dang awesome for plotting motivation.
    Same on the writing space. It’s not even my computer, it’s the family desktop and … Yeah. Wow it gets messy fast. XD

    Liked by 1 person

      • Ugh, I hate when that happens. 😛 Her podcasts are free, though, and make quite a few of the same points. One of my favorite older ones was “Captain America’s 10 step guide to a likable protagonist” XD
        Usually people coming over is my motivation. “Look at me, I’m so tidy… at this moment…” XP

        Liked by 1 person

        • That’s awesome!!! I THINK I MIGHT HAVE SEEN THAT ONE!!!!!!! Or maybe that was “The Avengers’ Guide to Self-Publishing”… Don’t remember. 😛
          XD That’s certainly motivating…

          Like

  2. Great post! I’m kinda feeling like a plantser right now… XD Even though I’m usually a planner. Plot’s coming along slower than I thought… I love naming my characters too! 😀 You’re lucky you haven’t had to look anything too weird…such is not my case… XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed your interview! 🙂 I’m definitely a plotter! It’s really annoying me at the moment, since I have about 8 story plans in my mind and a new idea every day, but I can’t seem to write it! :O

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bahah! I’m laughing at that last line. AGREED. Although I actually mostly write on my bed or the floor because my desk is a mess. xD (And hey, the floor is close. XD) Ahem. This was so great to read! And that’s awesome that you’re totally open and cool to share your work, omg, I still collapse with nerves any time someone reads something of mine. hehe
    Thanks for joining in the linkup! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • XD Yup! Must be a thing for writers. The only reason I’m able to write on my desk is because my computer has it’s own little spot all cleared off. 😉
      Thank you! 😀 I always freak out when it’s someone I don’t know, but I know my friends aren’t going to kill me. Unless I have a terrible cliffhanger. 😉
      You’re welcome, and thank you for creating it! 😀

      Like

Talk To Me