The Results Of A Contest And A Poem

No, this isn’t about my Super-Duper Fan Fiction Crossover Challenge… although I must point out I still haven’t received any entries… But no, this is about a contest I entered. A poetry contest. The finalists were announced today… and I made it to the finals.

I made it to the finals.

What???

The irony. I wrote the poem for fun, with little editing, and… I don’t even like poetry that much…

Ah, well. Here’s a sonnet I wrote for English a while back. Hope you enjoy!

 

Like The Flowing Sea

The ocean waves flow like the prairie grass.

They softly whisper on the sandy beach,

Then crash onto the rocks with violent speech

As the sand slides back in an hourglass.

Seaweed, clam shells, and sea water drift past,

And the fingers of waves stretch and reach.

The water flows and seems to beseech

The bright bold sun to turn it to glass.

Without the constant ebb and flow of life

We would not be able to learn and grow.

The long, strong struggles test you and me;

We will grow stronger through all the strife.

And by the ocean’s movement we will know

That life is so much like the flowing sea.

 

26 thoughts on “The Results Of A Contest And A Poem

  1. Congratulations! That’s awesome!
    When’s the deadline on the crossover challenge? I keep meaning to do that, but it doesn’t happen. Mostly because I’ve been doing a ton of work on my non-fanfic WIPs. (I’m down from 3 to just 1 now!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg! Omg! CONGRATS!!! That is epic and wonderful news! I liked that poem you posted also..poetry baffles me. It’s beautiful but I have no idea how to write it. xD So good on you! *tosses confetti*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk To Me

