Tales From The Writer’s Desk: Out To Lunch

Inspired by questions on sarahtps’ post about her Liebster Award acceptance. Enjoy, and please let me know what you think. I love feedback! 😀

“Hi, Cascade, Iris, Slade,” I greet as the three troop into my office. It’s quite crowded with this many people. “Are you guys ready for lunch?”

“Starved,” Slade groans. Iris jabs him in the ribs with her elbow. We leave and head out of the building. “Where are we going to eat, anyway?” Slade asks.

I shrug. “Um, well, I guess we could go to the Shawarma Palace,” I suggest.

Cascade nodded. “That’s perfect. They’re amazing.”

We make our way down the street and take a cab at the corner. Even with all the heavy New York traffic, it doesn’t take us long to reach the restaurant and order our food. It’s pretty early for lunch, so the restaurant is virtually empty. We quickly devour our food.

“That was good, Bri, thanks for treating us,” Iris says, smiling at me.

“No problem,” I reply. “I enjoyed it, too.”

“So, what are we going to do next?” Slade asks. “You said you had a full day planned.”

“Fighting ninjas? Or crocodiles? Or man-eating tigers?” Cascade suggests eagerly. I laugh, and I’m about to reply when a voice from the booth behind us interrupts me. A man stands up and faces us.

“How about fighting… me?” he asks, an evil grin crossing his face. His knotted black hair is pulled back in a loose ponytail, and his sun-darkened face has wrinkles crossing it. They’re not smile wrinkles. A scar stretches across his cheek from his chin up to his eye. And then his eyes… one is green, the other yellow, and they’re both glittering with an intense hatred and glee.

“Raltan,” I breathe. “Raltan Menger.” He’s the villain from the story that Cascade was in, and he nearly killed her twin brother, Darrin.

He smiles. “Of course.” He turns to face Cascade. “I’m sure you wouldn’t be too scared to fight me.” He smirks.

Slade waves his hand as he steals a French fry from Iris. Raltan tumbles backwards, landing on his rear. Cascade leaps on top of him and clips handcuffs on his wrists. “I would fight you,” she admits, “but it’s probably a good idea to lock you up first.” She winks at Slade. “Too bad you weren’t there when we needed you.”

“Yep, lock him up,” I agree, relieved. “It’s a very good idea.”

7 thoughts on “Tales From The Writer’s Desk: Out To Lunch

  1. Pingback: Inside IDIA: The History of IDIA | The World Of The Writer

Talk To Me

