Writings About Writing – Description

Ooh. Yep. Description.

Description is something I always have trouble with. Mostly because I forget about it. I always have to look back in my story to see if I’ve already described a character, or if I’ve described this room, or that scenic view, or the hotel, or… well, I’m sure you get the point.

I personally think I’m okay with description, as long as I remember it. Character descriptions are usually some of the hardest for me. “Okay, she’s tall, brown hair, with green eyes.” No, I need more detail than that. How do you even do that?

Yeah. I struggle with description. And here I am, struggling with describing my struggles with description. πŸ˜‰

Do you struggle with description? What’s your biggest description problem? Too much or too little? How do you describe your characters’ appearances?

5 thoughts on “Writings About Writing – Description

  1. If it’s not a main character, I usually keep the physical descriptions brief. Anything my readers need to know about them is probably just related to their personalities. But as for my main characters, I TRY (not always successfully) to do it in action or thought, such as: she always loved the way his blue eyes twinkled with his frequent smiles; or: As she thought about what she might answer, she tucked a strand of her long, strawberry blonde head behind her ear. That type of thing. That way it’s not too much like a police description: tall female, 5’9″, long brown hair, green eyes, straight teeth, etc. πŸ™‚ Good luck and great post! πŸ˜€

    Like

Talk To Me

